For the Love of Cake…

It is one habit that I am self-conscious towards. It is the one thing that makes me feel like I am doing something to get rid of the extra weight I have acquired over the years.  I go to the gym and work out.

This can be a very difficult thing to do. To actually go out there in public in workout clothes can have its challenges but the gym here is very forgiving; not many people  are at the gym when I go. There is one class but often times participation is very low. I enjoy how I can “slide in” and get my work out done.

Each morning I try to decide if I will go today or not. I contemplate when I went last, try to figure out if I should go and rationalize staying home is better.  So, when I finally do get there, it is a major feat. I ceremoniously hand over my ID card to the front door office girl (who is always fit and skinny) to hear it beep into the system as if to say, “Yes, I made it here do be happy for me.”

Today was no different except I was hungry very hungry and could not get food, cake specifically off my mind. All I wanted was cake. Any kind of cake would have served me fine. Chocolate on chocolate, a swipe of yellow cake with vanilla frosting, cream cheese frosting on carrot cake or vanilla cake with chocolate frosting and sprinkles or some sort of sugary topping.  All I knew was that I was battling the invasion of cake.

I knew that today of all days I needed to workout and I would be able to hand over my ID card and hear its declaration, “I am here” with much pride and drive.  Quickly I stepped up to the front desk and began handing over my ID when there in front of the fit and skinny office girl was a piece of chocolate cake.  The icing was oozing with the delightful smell of sugar and little chocolate bits.  I melted where I stood staring at the cake with a longing. My ID beeped but somehow I missed the delightful feeling of how I had made it there to work out.

I did stay for a short time. Long  enough to break a sweat.

I decided that on some days you can have your cake and eat it too.

She better not have a piece of cake at the front desk tomorrow.

 

Leave a Comment

